2016 Selected Teams


The NASA Swarmathon is a competition to develop cooperative robotics to revolutionize space exploration.  The First Annual Swarmathon, occurred April 18-22, 2016 at NASA Kennedy Space Center. Students from Minority Serving Universities and Community Colleges were challenged to develop search algorithms for robotic swarms. This technology promises to more effectively and efficiently locate and collect resources on the Moon or Mars.

12 teams representing 14 schools competed in the Swarmathon’s Physical Competition and 12 teams competed in the Virtual Competition.

(Universities and Community Colleges interested in applying for the 2017 competition should visit the Swarmathon “Apply Page” to get on the email notification list.)


Swarmathon Physical Competition

Institution Location
California State University, Los Angeles Los Angeles, CA
Central New Mexico Community College Albuquerque, NM
Claflin University Orangeburg, SC
Fayetteville State University Fayetteville, NC
Florida International University Miami, FL
Morehouse College Atlanta, GA
Pasadena City Community College Pasadena, CA
San Jacinto College & University of Houston, Clear Lake Houston, TX
Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute Albuquerque, NM
University of District of Columbia & Howard University Washington, DC
University of Houston Houston, TX
York College of The City University of New York Jamaica, NY

NASA Swarmathon Virtual Competition

Institution Location
Cabrillo College Aptos, CA
California State University, Channel Islands Camarillo, CA
City College of New York New York, NY
Durham Technical Community College Durham, NC
Honolulu Community College Honolulu, HI
Jackson State University Jackson, MS
Navajo Technical University Crownpoint, NM
Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico San Juan, PR
Southwestern College Chula Vista, CA
Texas A&M International University Laredo, TX
University of Hawaii Maui College Kahului, HI
University of Puerto Rico at Arecibo Arecibo, PR