2018 Selected Teams


The NASA Swarmathon is a competition to develop cooperative robotics to revolutionize space exploration.  The Third Annual Swarmathon will occur April 17 – 19, 2018 at NASA Kennedy Space Center. Students from Minority Serving Universities and Community Colleges are challenged to develop search algorithms for robotic swarms. This technology promises to more effectively and efficiently locate and collect resources on the Moon or Mars.

Teams representing the following schools have been selected to compete in the Swarmathon’s Physical Competition.


2018 Swarmathon Physical Competition

Institution Location
Cabrillo College Aptos, CA
California State University-Channel Islands Camarillo, CA
California State University-Los Angeles Los Angeles, CA
Central New Mexico Community College Albuquerque, NM
Durham Tech Community College Durham, NC
Fayetteville State University Fayetteville, NC
Florida International University Miami, FL
Inter American University of Puerto Rico-Bayamon Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Jackson State University Jackson, MS
Montgomery College Rockville, MD
Morehouse College Atlanta, GA
Navajo Technical University Crownpoint, NM
Pasadena City College Pasadena, CA
Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute Albuquerque, NM
Texas A&M International University Laredo, TX
University of California-Merced Merced, CA
University of District of Columbia Washington, DC
University of Hawaii at Hilo Hilo, HI
University of Houston Houston, TX
University of Houston-Clear Lake & San Jacinto College-North Campus Houston, TX
University of North Carolina at Pembroke & Claflin University Pembroke, NC & Orangeburg, SC
University of Puerto Rico at Arecibo Arecibo, PR
York College of The City University of New York Jamaica, NY


Teams representing the following schools have been selected to compete in the Swarmathon’s Virtual Competition.


2018 Swarmathon Virtual Competition

Institution Location
City College of New York New York, NY
California State University-Fullerton Fullerton, CA
College of the Sequoias Visalia, CA
El Paso Community College El Paso, TX
University of Maryland-College Park College Park, MD
University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez Mayaguez, PR
Winston-Salem State University Winston-Salem, NC