2017 Selected Teams


The NASA Swarmathon is a competition to develop cooperative robotics to revolutionize space exploration.  The Second Annual Swarmathon, will occur in April at NASA Kennedy Space Center. Students from Minority Serving Universities and Community Colleges are challenged to develop search algorithms for robotic swarms. This technology promises to more effectively and efficiently locate and collect resources on the Moon or Mars.

19 teams representing 20 schools have been selected to compete in the Swarmathon’s Physical Competition.

2017 Swarmathon Physical Competition

Institution Location
Cabrillo College Aptoc, CA
California State University-Channel Islands Camarillo, CA
California State University-Los Angeles Los Angeles, CA
Central New Mexico Community College Albuquerque, NM
Durham Tech Community College Durham, NC
Fayetteville State University Fayetteville, NC
Florida International University Miami, FL
Jackson State University Jackson, MS
Morehouse College Atlanta, GA
Navajo Technical University Crownpoint, NM
Pasadena City College Pasadena, CA
San Jacinto College & University of Houston, Clear Lake Houston, TX
Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute Albuquerque, NM
Texas A&M International University Laredo, TX
University of California-Merced Merced, CA
University of District of Columbia Washington, DC
University of Houston Houston, TX
University of Puerto Rico at Arecibo Arecibo, PR
York College of The City University of New York Jamaica, NY


15 teams have been selected to compete in the Swarmathon’s Virtual Competition.

2017 Swarmathon Virtual Competition

Institution Location
City College of New York New York, NY
College of the Sequoias Visalia, CA
Coppin State University Baltimore, MD
El Paso Community College El Paso, TX
Fisk University Nashville, TN
Grambling State University Grambling, LA
Inter American University of Puerto Rico Bayamon, PR
Montgomery College Rockville, MD
Norco College Norco, CA
Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico San Juan, PR
University of Hawaii at Hilo Hilo, HI
University of Houston-Downtown Houston, TX
University of North Carolina at Pembroke Pembroke, NC
University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez Mayaguez, PR
Winston-Salem State University Winston-Salem, NC


The following high school teams have been selected to compete in Swarmathon’s High School Division


2017 Swarmathon High School Division Competition

Academia Discípulos de Cristo – Bayamón
Academy of Our Lady
Alliance Marc & Eva Stern Math and Science School
Anacostia High School
C.E. King High School
Channelview High school
Channelview High School
Coppin Academy High School
CROEM (Residential Center of Educative Opportunities of Mayaguez)
Deer Park High School
Durham Tech Middle College High School
East Early College High School
Galena Park High School
Gulfport High School
Harbor High School
Harmony Science academy
Jack Britt High School
John W. Provine High School (Jackson MS)
Louis Miller Terrebonne Career and Technical High School
Mission Early College High School
Navajo Pine
Newbury Park High School
North Shore Senior High School
Northshore High School
Ovey Comeaux High School
Pacifica High School
Salmen High School
Socorro High School
Southern High School
Terry Sanford High School
United High School